Input your search keywords and press Enter.


Major Bhupinder Singh was born on 19th September 1928 to Shri Sajjan Singh. He hailed from Rupnagar in the Ropar district of Punjab. He was commissioned into the Hodson’s Horse on 11th December 1949. During the 1965 Indo-Pak war, Major Bhupinder Singh’s unit got deployed in the Punjab sector.   

Service Number IC 4466 
Place of Birth Punjab 
Rank Major 
Unit 4 Horse 
Regiment Armoured Corps 
Award Maha Vir Chakra 
Date of Martyrdom 3rd October 1965 

During this time Maj Bhupinder Singh was commanding the squadron ‘B’ of 4 Horse which was deployed to cut the enemy line of a long road Gadgor-Phillora and provide a firebase for the attack on Phillora. Major Bhupinder Singh led his squadron with distinction in the battle of Phillora and his squadron was able to cause large-scale destruction of Pakistani tanks and other equipment. With skillful deployment and bold action, his squadron proved its mettle and changed the course of the battle in India’s favor. Although Maj Bhupinder’s tank was hit on several occasions, he continued to remain ineffective command and by several acts of personal gallantry inspired his men to fight courageously. In one of the attacks through his tank was damaged he bailed out safely but went back to save one of his comrades which exemplifies courage, sacrifice, and comradeship. On 19th September his tank was hit and caught fire in which he received severe burn injuries and was evacuated and shifted to the military hospital Delhi. Maj Bhupinder later succumbed to his injuries on 3rd October 1965.  

Major Bhupinder Singh was awarded the nation’s second-highest gallantry award ‘Maha Vir Chakra’ posthumously. 

Hi! I am Saloni Chhetri. I have done masters in Mathematics and currently working as a team member of How to Crack SSB. My hobby is writing which is one of the prime reasons, that I work for this organisation. Apart from this I would like to share one more information about myself, that I am also a Defence aspirant and one day I wish to join the Indian Air Force.